Impact Resistant Shingles

Even if your roof is fairly new, most shingle manufacturer warranties do not cover hail damage.

While no type of roofing material is completely hail-proof, manufacturers offer a wide selection of impact-resistant shingles. The test are performed by the American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM), and the ratings are determined by dropping different sized steel balls from a height of 20 feet.

The goal is to determine the amount of stress a newly manufactured shingle can withstand without cracking.

  • Different-sized steel balls are dropped straight down from 20 feet to mimic falling hail.
  • The balls strike the shingle at 90 miles per hour and come to an instant stop. Balls are dropped twice in the same spot to test the impact resistance of each type of shingle.
  • Ratings are assigned (Class 1 through 4), which signify each shingle's resistance to a particular size steel ball. The higher numbers represent greater impact resistance.
  • Class 4 shingles have the highest impact resistance, with no evidence of cracks or ruptures on front or back. Compare to standard shingles which may have ruptures or cracks visible on the surface or back immediately after hail impact.

Impact Resistant Shingles

UL Impact Resistant Ratings

Class 1 = 1 ¼" steel ball dropped from 20 feet
Class 2 = 1 ½" steel ball dropped from 20 feet
Class 3 = 1 ¾" steel ball dropped from 20 feet
Class 4 = 2" steel ball dropped from 20 feet

Installing a Class IV hail resistant roof may qualify you for lower insurance premiums, depending on where you live. The lower insurance premium can offset the slightly higher cost of impact resistant shingles and lessen the risk of future hail damage to your roof.

Free Estimates





Type of Work Needed

To help us prevent automated spam, enter the code from the image below: